9th Lux Style Awards And the Winners are


    Legendary actor Roohi Bano gets a standing ovation and Lifetime Achievement, Mekaal Hasan Band sweeps the music categories and Rohail Hyatt bags Best Music Producer. Here’s the lowdown on LSA 2010

    Legendary television actress, Roohi Bano, whose performances in plays such as Darwaza, Zard Gulab among many many others and fifteen films to her credit was awarded the Unilever Lifetime Achievement Award. At an elegant sit down dinner, the show reel that ran brought back memories of the passionate, fiery actress who inflamed our imaginations in drama’s golden years. Introduced to television by Dr Enver Sajjad, Roohi Bano went on to star in lays like the delightful Kiran Kahani and then to performances from films like Zameer. There was pin drop silence in the hall for Ustad Allah Rakha’s daughter who saw a meteoric rise as a star actress and then went on to live a life filled with tragedy battling schizophrenia and coping with the death of her only son who was brutally murdered some years ago. It was tremendous to see her recognised at the Lux Style Awards with a standing ovation. Moments like these are what the LSAs are about. Some present compared her to Parveen Babi, but we disagree. They may be similar in terms of life but as far as talent goes, Roohi Bano is right up there with Smitha Patel.

    This was one of the most predictable wins of the night. Even though all nominees in the producer category were solid, there was no doubt that producer would, should and did go to Rohail Hyatt for Coke Studio Sessions. After all, Coke Studio has managed to reinvent artists, songs, introduced new acts and has redefined how music is produced in this country. Hats off to the ultimate producer!

    Mekaal Hasan Band had a good night at the Lux Style Awards. Their record Saptak won them Artist of the Year and Singer of the Year. And the icing on the cake came with Zeeshan Parwez’s win who also picked up a trophy for his video ‘Waris Shah’ for the Mekaal Hasan Band.

    The unlikely pair: “You’re keeping the arts alive,” said comedian Sami Shah as he made his debut as a Lux Style Award host. And joining him onstage was Meera. They both teased each other, creating light moments. And it was rather nice to see Meera acknowledge the fact that the film industry is in shambles. She said one day it will get better and a huge round of applause resonated through the hall.

    A glowing Fayezah Ansari with her award for Best Female Model having won out over Cybil, Mehreen, Aminah Sheikh and Rabya Butt. It was a well-deserved award for a girl who is truly edgy and out there. She also won for the Best Dressed of the Evening in a stunning  red creation by  designer Amar Sarfaraz, who was formerly based in Norway but is now living and working in Islamabad as a designer.

    9th LUX STYLE AWARDS Winner List :

    Best Film
    Nach Kay Yaar Manana (Producer Syed Noor) (Winner)

    Best Film Actor
    Shaan for Nach Kay Yaar Manana (Winner)

    Best Film Actress
    Saima for Nach Kay Yaar Manana (Winner)


    Best TV Serial (Terrestrial)
    Jee Chahta Hai on ATV
    Jinnah Kay Naam on PTV
    Kaghaz Kay Nao on ATV
    Khuda Zameen Say Gaya Nahin on PTV (Winner)
    Rani on PTV

    Best TV Actor (Terrestrial)
    Ahsan Khan for Mohabbat Yun Bhi Hoti Hai on ATV
    Ayub Khosa for Khuda Zameen Say Gaya Nahin on PTV
    Noman Ijaz for Kaghaz Kay Nao on ATV (Winner)
    Sajid Hasan for Rani on PTV
    Shahood Alvi for Jee Chahta Hai on ATV

    Best TV Actress (Terrestrial)
    Angeline Malik for Rani on PTV
    Juggun Kazim for Kaghaz Kay Nao on ATV
    Maira Khan for Jee Chahta Hai on ATV (Winner)
    Saba Qamar for Jinnah Kay Naam on PTV
    Sara Chaudhry for Khuda Zameen Say Gaya Nahin on PTV

    Best TV Serial (Satellite)
    Aashti on Hum TV
    Doraha on Geo TV
    Ishq Junoon Deewangi on Hum TV (Winner)
    Ishq ki Intiha on Geo TV
    Teri ik Nazar on Geo TV

    Best TV Actor (Satellite)
    Fahad Mustafa for Veena on ARY
    Humayun Saeed for Doraha on Geo TV
    Humayun Saeed for Ishq Junoon Deewangee on Hum TV (Winner)
    Mohib Mirza for Dil e Nadan on Geo TV
    Shabbir Jan for Andata on Indus

    Best TV Actress (Satellite)
    Resham for Aashti on Hum TV
    Sanam Baluch for Noorpur ki Rani on Hum TV
    Sania Saeed for The Ghost on Hum TV (Winner)
    Sara Chaudhry for Teri Ik Nazar on Geo TV
    Sonia Rehman for Doraha on Geo TV

    Best TV Director (All Channels)

    Adnan Wai Qureishi for Aashti on Hum TV
    Baber Javed for Ishq Junoon Deewangee on Hum TV
    Kashif Nisar for Khuda Zameen Say Gaya Nahin on PTV
    Mehreen Jabbar for Doraha on Geo (Winner)
    Tariq Mairaj for Jinnah kay Naam on PTV

    Best TV Writer (All Channels)
    Asghar Nadeem Syed for Khuda Zameen Say Gaya Nahin on PTV (Winner)
    Fizza Jaffri for Veena on ARY
    Kashif Nisar for Jinnah kay Naam on PTV
    Seema Ghazal for Aashti on Hum TV
    Zafar Mairaj for Darwaza on PTV


    Best Artist
    Mariam Kizilbash
    Mekaal Hassan Band for Saptak (Winner)
    Overload for Pichal Pairee
    Rahim Shah
    Shiraz Uppal

    Best Music Video Director
    Ahsan Rahim
    Bilal Lashari for Chal Buleya by Mekaal Hassan Band
    Farhad Humayun for Mela Kariya by Overload
    Sohail Javed
    Zeeshan Pervaiz (Winner)

    Singer of the Year
    Imran Khan
    Chal Buleya by Mekaal Hassan Band from Saptak (Winner)
    Zain ul Abedin
    Rahim Shah
    Shiraz Uppal

    Best Music Producer
    Mekaal Hassan for Saptak
    Farhad Humayun for Pichal Pairee, Overload
    Shiraz Uppal for Ankahi
    Shani and Kami for Rahim Shah
    Rohail Hyatt for the Coke Studio Sessions (Winner)


    Model of the Year (Female)
    Aamina Sheikh
    Cybil Chowdhry
    Fayeza Ansari (Winner)
    Mehreen Syed
    Rabia Butt

    Model of the Year (Male)
    Iffi Zafar (Winner)
    Rohail Peerzada

    Best Emerging Talent (0-3 years)
    Ayaan Ali (Model)
    Ayaz Anis (Photographer)
    Feeha Jamshed (Designer) (Winner)

    M. Mubarak (Model)
    Raana Khan (Hair and Make-up)

    Best Fashion Photographer

    Fayyaz Ahmed
    Guddu Shaani (Winner)
    Khawar Riaz
    Maram Abroo
    Rizwan ul Haq

    Best Hair and Make up Artist

    Khawar Riaz
    Nighat at Depilex
    Rizwana Khan (Winner)
    Saba at Sabs

    Achievement in Fashion

    Design – Pret
    Deepak Perwani (Winner)
    Kamiar Rokni
    Khaadi Khaas
    Sara Shahid at Sublime
    Sonya Battla

    Achievement in Fashion Design – Luxury Pret
    Iman Ahmed at Body Focus
    Nomi Ansari
    Rizwan Beyg
    Sana Safinaz (Winner)
    Shamaeel Ansari

    Best Retail Brand
    FNK Asia
    Generation (Winner)

    Best Menswear Designer
    Amir Adnan
    Fahad Hussayn
    Hassan Sheheryar Yasin (Winner)
    Ismail Farid
    Kuki Concepts

    Fashion Lifetime Achievement Award
    Mirza Khurshid Masood

    Unilever Chairman’s Lifetime Achievement Award
    Roohi Bano

    Source : Instep News

    Leave Your Comments Through Facebook