13th LUX Style Awards 2014 Nominations for Music, Film, TV & Fashion


The nominees for the 13th Lux Style Awards (LSA’s) have been announced. The most talented of Pakistan’s entertainment and fashion industries will be up for awards in 27 categories drawn from the four disciplines of fashion, film, music and television. Each category was judged independently by four distinguished juries.

13th lux style awards 2014 nominations

The fashion jury decided on nominations for ten fashion categories – Best Female/Male Model, Best Menswear, Prêt, Luxury Prêt, High Street and Lawn Designer, Best Hair and Make-up, Best Photographer and Best Emerging Talent.

The greatest debate was on the fast blurring distinction between Prêt and High Street. The emergence of exciting retail space and steady dominance of fashion weeks has resulted in designers updating their high street lines. For the year 2013, the selection was made based on the ease of availability across Pakistan, fashion forward ethos to the collection and prominent showing at fashion weeks. The fashion jury decided to merge the two categories for the awards next year (i.e for LSAs 2015 when the work for calendar year 2014 will be under consideration) and to bring back the category of Best Bridalwear Designer. Selection of winners for fashion categories will be decided in a second tier of voting based on portfolio submissions, by members of the fashion fraternity in Karachi and Lahore.

SanaSafinaz and Sania Maskatiya dominated the fashion market last year as seen by their multiple nominations in the design categories for this year.

It was an exciting year for the film industry of Pakistan with several young directors coming up with box office hits. The awards in the film section will be jury based and not on box office business.

The music industry is getting back on its feet as compared to previous years of 2011 and 2012. Music award nominations for the year 2013 were hotly debated and a wide range of music was discussed. The Internet and radio are the mediums that drive this category and the jury’s submissions in all five categories of Best Album, Best Video, Best Original Sound Track encompassing film and TV, whereas Song of the Year and Emerging Talent will be put to public voting for winner selection. The music video winner selection will remain a jury choice.

Television nominations in eight categories were divided in Best Satellite (Play, Actor, Actress) and Best Terrestrial (Play, Actor, Actress). Winners of these categories are decided via viewer’s choice votes. The Best Writer and Best Director category as combined (terrestrial and satellite) categories each are decided by the TV jury. It is a reflection on the robustness of the TV industry that the nominees in this section were evenly divided amongst all the top entertainment channels.

The Lux Style Awards for excellence in fashion, film, music and television will be held later this quarter and aired nationally.

Nominees list

FASHION Nominations for Lux Style Awards 2014 :

Model of the Year (Female)
Amna Ilyas
Cybil Chowdhry
Fouzia Aman
Nooray Bhatty
Rabia Butt

Model of the Year (Male)
Abbas Jaffri
Athar Amin
Rizwan Jaffri
Waleed Khalid

Best Fashion Photographer
Abdullah Harris
Guddu Shani
Maram & Abroo
Nadir & Maha from NFK Photography
Rizwanul Haq

Best Hair and Make-up Artist
Maram & Abroo
Nighat Misbah for Depilex
Raana Khan

Achievement in Fashion Design – Pret
Body Focus by Iman Ahmed
Sania Maskatiya
Sublime by Sara Shahid

Achievement in Fashion Design – Luxury Prêt
Ali Xeeshan
Sania Maskatiya
Shehla Chatoor

Achievement in Fashion Design – Menswear
Ahmed Bham
Fahad Hussayn
Hassan Sheheryar Yasin
Nauman Arfeen

Achievement in Fashion Design – Lawn
Fahad Hussayn
Faraz Manan
Sania Maskatiya

Best High Street Brand
MK Nation

Best Emerging Talent
Amna Babar
Azeem Sani
Mahgul for Nasreen Sheikh
Natasha Salon
Tabesh Oza


FILMS Nominated for Lux Style Awards 2014 :

Best Film
‘Main Hoon Shahid Afridi’
‘Zinda Bhaag’

Best Director
Syed Ali Raza Usama (‘Main Hoon Shahid Afridi’)
‘Azfar Jafri’ (‘Siyaah’)
Bilal Lashari (‘Waar’)
Meenu & Farjad (‘Zinda Bhaag’)

Best Actor
Gohar Rasheed for (‘Seedlings’)
Humayun Saeed (‘Main Hoon Shahid Afridi’)
Khurram Patras (‘Zinda Bhaag’)
Mohib Mirza (‘Seedlings’)
Shaan Shahid (‘Waar’)

Best Actress
Aamina Sheikh (‘Josh’)
Aamina Sheikh (‘Seedlings’)
Amna Ilyas (‘Zinda Bhaag’)
HareemFarooq (‘Siyaah’)
Mahnoor Usman (‘Siyaah’)

MUSIC Nominations for Lux Style Awards 2014:

Best Album
‘Mushroom Cloud Effect’ by Adil Omar
‘Piyas’ by Jal
‘Sargoshiyan’ by Saturn
‘Yaran Di Toli’ by Rizwan Ali

Best Music Video Director
Adeel PK for “Waris Shah” by Asrar
Adnan Kandhar for “Mein Sufi Hun” by Sketches
Adnan Malik for “My Punjabi Love For You” by Bambu Sauce
Yasir Jaswal for “Akhri Bar Milo” by Shehryar Mirza
Yasir Jaswal for “Bolay” by Uzair Jaswal

Best Original Sound Track
Aaron Haroon Rashid for ‘Burqa Avenger’
Hassan Waqas Rana for ‘Waar’
Humayun Saeed & Shahzad Nasib for ‘Main Hoon Shahid Afridi’
Mazhar Zaidi for ‘Zinda Bhaag’
Promax Media for ‘Mujhe Khuda Pay Yaqeen’

Best Emerging Talent
Fables of Cantt
Shehryar Mirza

Song of the Year
“Bolay” by Uzair Jaswal
“Har Zulm” by Sajjad Ali
“Jeet” by Qayaas
“Khair Mangdi” by Bilal Saeed
“Malaal” by Rahat Fateh Ali Khan

TV Nominations for Lux Style Awards 2014 :

Best TV Serial Satellite
‘Aunn Zara’ on A Plus
‘Daagh’ on ARY Digital
‘Nanhi’ on Geo Entertainment
‘Rehaai’ on HUM TV
‘Ullu Baraye Farokht Nahi’ on HUM TV

Best TV Actor Satellite
Fahad Mustafa for ‘Daagh’ on ARY Digital
Fahad Mustafa for ‘Kankar’ on HUM TV
Fawad Khan for ‘Zindagi Gulzar Hai’ on HUM TV
Nauman Ejaz for ‘Rehaai’ on HUM TV
Nauman Ejaz for ‘Ullu Baraye Furokth Nahi’ on HUM TV

Best TV Actress Satellite
Irsa Ghazal for ‘Ullu Baraye Furokth Nahi’ on HUM TV
MeherBano for ‘Daagh’ on ARY Digital
Sajal Ali for ‘Nanhi’ on Geo Entertainment
Samina Peerzada for ‘Rehaai’ on HUM TV
Sanam Saeed for ‘Zindagi Gulzar Hai’ on HUM TV

Best TV Serial Terrestrial
‘Daag-e-Nidamat’ on PTV Home
‘Dil Awaiz’ on PTV Home
‘Kami RehGai’ on PTV Home
‘Kuch Is Tarha’ on PTV Home
‘Mar Jaen Hum Toh Kya’ on ATV

Best TV Actor Terrestrial
Faisal Rehman for ‘Daag-e-Nadamat’ on PTV Home
Mohib Mirza for ‘Roshni Andhera Roshni’ on ATV
Nauman Ejaz for ‘Dil Awaiz’ on PTV Home
Nauman Ejaz for ‘Kami RehGai’ on PTV Home
Noor Hassan for ‘Kuch Is Tarha’ on PTV Home

Best TV Actress Terrestrial
Aamina Shaikh for ‘Kuch Iss Tarha’ on PTV Home
Anoushay Abbasi for ‘Roshni Andhera Roshni’ on ATV
Mehreen Raheal for ‘Daag-e-Nadamaat’
Mehvish Hayat for ‘Kami Reh Gai’ on PTV Home
Sana Nawaz for ‘DilAwaiz’ on PTV Home

Best Writer
Amna Mufti for ‘Ullu Baraye Furokht Nahi’
Faiza Iftikhar for ‘Aunn Zara’
Farhat Ishtiaq for ‘Rehaai’
Mona Haseeb for ‘Nanhi’
Umera Ahmed for ‘Zindagi Gulzar Hai’

Best Director
Haseeb Hasan for ‘Nanhi’
Haissam Hussain for ‘Aunn Zara’
Kashif Nisar for ‘Ullu Baraye Furokht Nahi’
Mehreen Jabbar for ‘Rehaai’
Sultana Siddiqui for ‘Zindagi Gulzar Hai’

Leave Your Comments Through Facebook